I’ve never understood why this nation of immigrants never adopted the siesta so popular in many other cultures. Were we just too busy conquering western horizons to stop for nap in the heat of the day?

I’ve discovered that power napping gives me – well, it gives me power. Twelve minutes between about 2:00-3:00 (much later than 3 and I’m groggy the rest of the day) is just enough umph to get me over the afternoon lag.

It’s always 12 minutes. No alarm. My body just seems tuned to that 12 minutes. It’s just enough to reinvigorate me, but not too much so that I’m dragging the rest of the day.

Yep, I’m ready to go the distance after a 12 minute nap.

Well, after that and a cup of chai tea with sweetener and cream. That’s my other afternoon indulgence. I started that in NY last December at my friend Susan’s house. (I also got engaged on that trip, but you’ll have to read Views on Marriage to learn more about that!)

And to make it extra special, I drink it from one of the hand-painted benjarong ceramic cups I brought home from Thailand!

benjarong cup

I’d write more, but I’m late for my power nap.

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

