It all started when Vickie made Chicken Elegante for dinner two months ago. It’s one of those dinners that is best made a day ahead and reheated. The tarragon in this recipe knocked my socks off. I never thought about tarragon. Hadn’t used it very much and it wasn’t one of the herbs I’ve tried to grow.

But now I’m a huge fan of tarragon and it’s finding it’s way into everything I cook – even canned soup! (Yeah, I confess to the canned soup. But those Campbell Selects are pretty darn good and I don’t always have time to cook from scratch!)

Of course (as is often the case) one thing leads to another. Now that I’ve got a brand new jar of dried tarragon, I’m reminded of how old all of my other spices are. Time to replace them. Who knows what new tastes I’ll be enjoying when I use herbs that haven’t been languishing in the spice rack for years? I may even try growing herbs again this summer!

Chicken Elegante
2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts
Salt and pepper to taste
2 T. margarine, divided
1/2 pound fresh mushrooms, sliced
1 T. all-purpose flour
1 (10 3/4-ounce) can low-fat cream of chicken soup
1 C canned fat free chicken broth
1 C skim milk
1/2 t. dried tarragon leaves
1 (14-ounce) can quartered artichoke hearts, drained
1 bunch green onions (scallions) chopped
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Season the chicken with salt and pepper. In a large skillet coated with nonstick cooking spray, heat 1 T margarine until melted over a medium-high heat. Add the chicken and cook until brown on all sides, about 5 minutes. Remove the chicken and place in an oblong baking pan. In the same skillet, melt the remaining 1 T. margarine and saute the mushrooms until tender, about 5 minutes. Stir in the flour, soup, broth, milk, and tarragon. Season to taste. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and cook, stirring about 5 minutes. Pour the sauce over the chicken and bake, uncovered, for 50 minutes. Remove the chicken from the oven, add artichoke hearts and chopped green onions. Return to oven and continue baking for 15 minutes longer or until the chicken is done.
Servings: 6-8
Food Fact:
Artichokes contain a phytochemical called silymarin, which is believed to decrease the risk of skin cancer.
Calories: 225
Protein (g): 31
Carbohydrate (g): 11
Fat (g): 5
Cal. from Fat (%): 22
Saturated Fat (g): 1
Dietary Fiber (g): 1
Sodium (mg): 577
Cholesterol (mg): 69

